Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Nowadays most students are choosing a gap year before starting university to rest from education. However, in my opinion, this is the worst idea because students are supposed to gain a practical experience before entering university, and most students cannot afford tuition fees because of the financial problems.

Taking a rest before entering university is a bad idea, because it disrupts learning habits and make it harder to adapt to the university-level skills. Most of students, after a gap year loose their concentration, potential and motivation for studying after a year of a rest. Consequently, a bunch of students are failing entrance exams and stop studying and preparing for university and this problem can influence in their daily life for a bad side.

On the other hand there is the another type of the students which cannot afford tuition fees of the university and have a rest from university. These people are studying under a high-pressure on preparing because of the challenging for a scholarships and fully funded programs which helps them to study free and get some money while they are studying. And these people, cannot make a mistake because of the financial problems in their life.

In conclusion taking a rest before university can be a good idea but not affordable for everyone because of their financial problems. It’s better to enter to the university and after it take a short rest.