Many students have to study subjects which they don't like. Some people think this is a complete waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Nowadays, some people hold the belief that compulsory studying in different subjects is ineffective method as it time consuming for students. While I disagree with the given statement, I do believe that there are some better reasons for focusing on only main subjects .

On the one hand, students with wide range of skills in several fields considered as a self-sufficient and easy to achieve success. When people dedicate a part of their time to enrich their minds with learning different fields, they can easily overcome different life challenges such as finding well-paid job getting better employment opportunities. Furthermore, , through comprehensive study a person can develop a wider skill set, and it is appreciated by companies. For example, Microsoft tech company provides a job for people who have proficiency in languages, programming and mathematics.

On the other hand, studying in multiple subjects doesn’t mean that individuals are experts. In fact, they will not be able to go further with their limited experiences. This is to say, if a person pays attention to only core subjects, he will be a real expert in that field. Moreover , studying boring and undesirable topics causes more stress and lack of motivation to pursue an academic success in the future.

Taking everything into consideration I would conclude that broad knowledge is important for students’ holistic development. However, it is better to have fewer subjects according to pupils’ interests rather than overburden them with unnecessary subjects that have no practical utilities in future life.