Many students today feel that their self-worth is entirely defined by their academic grades. While some say this drives excellence, others believe it leads to severe burnout To what extent to you argee or disargee with this view.

Self-worth plays an important role in individuals lives. While many people believe that linking it with academic grades can motivate students to achieve excellence, others argue that it can lead to severe burnout. In my own view, although academic grades can highly motivate students, it can be ultimately harmful if being measured for self-value.

Admittedly, linking self-worth to grades can push students to study harder. When students believe that their value hugely relies on academic performance, they are more likely to study harder, set clearer goals and have ambition to achieve them. Therefore, this kind of motivation draws them closer to success and widens their future opportunities in life. This kind of mindset also fosters a strong work ethic and a will to learn continuously. For instance, when a student aims to qualify for their dream schools, they will push themselves to excel academically. Moreover, it can give learners an epiphany to study more effectively and be more responsible for their own futures. Life is cruel and social recognition is important and that is what makes them continue studying. Hence, students will be able to manage their time wisely and learn independently, which are essential qualities for long-term success. In my perspective, linking academic performance has numerous benefits among students.

However, this can also adversely affect us in several ways. Pressure and anxiety are common among students in such a competitive world. They have to deal with so much upheaval though still very young and haven’t had enough experience yet. Consequently, this can discourage students from studying and lower their motivation for future goals. For instance, when a pupil has to deal with too much work and pressure, they tend to give up striving for their goals. Furthermore, they can also develop a sense of self-doubt and a lack of confidence. They feel that they are not as good as their peers and therefore reduce their confidence when interacting with others. Hence, they will change their perspective on life and live in isolation from society. In my point of view, if not being strictly controlled, the effects they bring to us are countless.

In conclusion, though linking self-worth with academic grades motivates us to pursue our goals, it can also demotivate us in the long run. Whether it is beneficial or not hugely depends on our responsibility and ability to cope with these issues.