Many students use phones too much in class. What are the reasons and solutions to this issue ?

Across modern classrooms, from Vietnam to the wider world, hectic schedule and exam-driven culture have made excessive use of phones a seemingly insidious norm for meaningful academic engagement. What appears to be much-needed recreational time is, in reality hampering students’ potential. This trend is anything but benign. If left unchecked, it will further erode students’ holistic development, unless educators and policymakers act collectively.

Central to this problem lies a deceptive interplay of influences, predominantly the prioritisation of rote instruction over interactive learning. All too often, schools surrender to institutional pressure and grade-obessive parents, compelling students to follow a rigid learning schedule. Such classes are packed with painstaking drills and rote learning, causing them to readily disengage. For instance, Maths, once among the most engaging subjects in school, has increasingly been pushed aside by American students in favour of games and social media on their phones. By the same token, educational system in China prioritise performance metrics and subject learners to relentless drills and assignments. In such context, it is little wonder that such students turn to phones for relief. Worse stilll, the absence of rules in classes erodes concentration, rendering them more dependent on engaging yet academically irrelevant content. Some argue that using phones in classes frees up time for social connection, yet messaging during break that spills into class time reveals over-dependence, not connection. If anything, long-term phones addiction undermines the very face-to-face connections it purports to foster.

This deceptive reliance, whose effects are culmulative and far-reaching, demands immediate intervention before it becomes a slient epidemic. At a policy level, governments must mandate fun activities in the core curriculum to make classes more engaging places, as seen in various secondary schools in Australia, where critical thinking and applied skills are placed at the forefront of education. At a more local level, intentional limits on phone usage during classes should be non-negotiable essentials to restore classroom order and regulate screen time. Meanwhile, sustained and unified efforts among all stakeholders are just as important in raising awareness concerning the potential threats of overexposure to phones. Nevertheless, there is no such thing as a quick fix without recalibrating mindsets. Only when students reassess their reliance on phones will they regain a healthier balance between their smartphones and academic performance.

In conclusion, although phones lends themselves very well to making connection, it barely scratches the surface of consequences. It stands to reason that unified action from all stakeholders is essential to reclaim students’ potential from phones’ dominance, ensuring long-term growth rather than mindless addiction.