Many students work while studying. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working while you study?

In an era characterized by heightened competition and growing economic pressures, it has become increasingly common for students to manage jobs and studies. While there are clear benefits to this trend, I believe that it is essential to focus only on their academic performance.

Proponents of managing both work and studies cite various reasons to support their stance. When students work and study simultaneously, they earn money while working apart from their studies. As a result, they will have a source of money flow, thereby being able to manage their expenses, such as housing, books and supplies, clothing, and tuition fees. This is particularly beneficial for low-income families, which barely make a livelihood due to a lack of sufficient financial resources. Gone are the days when parents paid for their children’s tuition expenditures, as today’s students cover their needs by working part-time jobs.

Despite these arguments, in my view, students should not work while they are studying. If students are employed, they may face tough work conditions, heavy workloads, tight deadlines, and a negative work environment, leading to feeling stressed and worn out. As a consequence, they might find it challenging to do their school assignments, thus failing to excel in their exams. A case in point is my home country of Uzbekistan, where students who are working feel overwhelmed and emotionally drained, therefore not being able to pass frequent standardized exams.

In conclusion, although working as a student helps to manage their expenses, I contend that it is essential to concentrate on studying. Working and studying simultaneously may prevent students from performing well in their exams.