Many teenagers have their own smartphones. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

A lot of young children aged 13 to 19 carry their own smartphones like iphones.

Although this can be useful for tracking purposes, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits because they act as big distractors.

The main advantage of teenagers carrying a smart phone is that parents can trace the whereabouts of their young children anytime. This is because these kind of devices have many advanced technology features, such as location detection and parents can easily keep a track of their children using the application required for this feature. For instance, apple iphones have ‘Find my phone’ application and once installed, area of the mobile can be easily identified. However, I believe that the downside of having a smart phone is much more than its benefit.

The biggest drawback of having a smart device is in its ability to distract the focus of juveniles. Owing to a proliferation of the internet usage and the social media, young children find themselves engrossed in mobiles, keeping them away from important things in life. These social media sites are so addictive that it becomes extremely difficult to stay away from them. Besides, they are exposed to adulterated content having bad effects on their mind. For example, research on the use of mobile phones revealed that teenagers who used smart phones are more violent than the ones who don’t. Therefore, I believe that there are detrimental effects on the mind of young children using these devices.

In conclusion, although smart devices may have a beneficial feature of tracing a location, I believe that disadvantages are more harmful for teenagers using them