Many teenagers have their own smartphones. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Smartphones are using by many young people. Although there are different benefits of having an smartphone by a youngster because parents can get contact with their children’s easily and students can attend online courses via their devices, i believe that this situation’s drawbacks outweigh the advantages as screen-time is increasing by scrolling in social media platforms or playing online games, which prevent to social interaction.

On the one hand, more and more adolescents possess an iPhone and their parents make video call when curious about offsprings. It is especially important when a child go to another city for university because it is generally the first time living detach from their families, therefore, thanks to smartphones parents not only helps their children to relieve longing but also get informed about offsprings. Moreover, students use smartphones to participate an online course or watch a lesson which they missed. Most of education institutions adapt their curriculums into online applications. During the covid19 lockdowns,for example, almost every student had to take lessons via online, and at that times smartphones became most important items for pupils.

On the other hand, adolescents tend to use their phone for bad habits. With technological improvements, there are increasingly social media platforms such as instagram, hence most of students use their smartphones to unneccesary activities instead of boosting their abilities. Also, the young avoid social interactions with peers and other people. Continuing demand to own smartphones by teenagers push them to escape from real life. For instance, in the past, there were more likely to see a group of adolescents by talking with their peers in parks, nowadays almost every young people are dealing with their phones.

In conclusion, most of teen possess a smartphone, which has both negative and positive impacts. While it is benefical because youngsters can get easily contact with their family members and take take online classes, i support the idea that its drawbacks overshadow advantages because teenagers use their smartphones just futile things and this situation takes them away from social interactions.