Many teenagers have their own smartphones. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In this new day and age, it is increasingly common for teenagers to have their own phones. While parents believe that this is a good thing to stay in constant contact with their children, others consider that it may also affect young people’s health. This essay will examine both sides of the statement and argue that it has more drawbacks.

On the positive side, technology is a good tool for study, providing children with developmental resources, if used correctly. Secondly, teenagers can improve their skills, such as technology management, through cutting-edge electronics since their early ages. This can be profitable for their future in many ways. Furthermore, nowadays, nothing goes without technology. As a case in point, parents now worry less about their children than in the past due to facilities that allow them to see their children’s locations.

However, there are notable disadvantages. One major concern is children’s health. Many children suffer from phone addiction, which naturally affects their mental and physical health. Specifically, medical problems such as obesity, loss of vision, depression, and laziness result. Health problems can result from a lack of physical activity and from spending too much time on the phone. Instead of ruin their health, social media may change teens’ behavior and outlook on life. Because social media is an independent entity, where people can express their feelings and stories freely, for instance, there are some channels focusing on motivation, but in reality, they may encourage strange movements that result in suicide. It becomes clear that the disadvantages are greater than the advantages.

In conclusion, this essay argued that having one’s own phone, without correct usage, may bring bad consequences and proved that it has more drawbacks than benefits.