Many think that religion should be taught in schools while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion #religion #

Religion, in one aspect, represents an identity of the individuals. Nowadays, people’s interest in different settings are conflicting. Some think that religion should be taught in schools while I, along with others, argue that it should be avoided. This essay will elaborate on it.

Religion is connected with culture, ethics, and moral values since centuries. It, as a subject, will teach students about their idols and how to worship them. It will broaden their knowledge on humanity. Additionally, learning a common religion in school will give them sense of belongingness leading to more unity. For instance, in Sikh institutions, students learn about their religion, culture, God idols and their sacrifices as well as prayers and chants particularly, gurbani. It makes them feel more connected. Further more, students will enjoy learning about their religion and contribute more attention. Moreover, each religion teaches good lesson of humanity in their auspicious books, like Bhagwat Gita, Bible, and more. Consequently, it will assist students in introspection.

Critics argue that it will become a hurdle in multi-religion educational institutes, not only it will lead to discrimination but also less harmony. For example, in Hindu school, it will teach children about Hinduism and books like Ramayana, Mahabharat, Bhagavad-Gita, etcetera. The Sikh, Christian, Muslim, and other religion students would not be able to learn about their religion. It will also lead to discrimination and destruction of unity among students. Additionally, only few students will be interested in gaining knowledge about other religions.

To conclude, teaching of religion in schools will provide expertise in moral values, ethics, culture, and sense of belongingness; albeit, It can lead to discrimination and harmony disturbance.