Many today feel that attention spans are becoming shorter due to the prevalence of social media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the growth of social media has an impact on the shorter focus of today’s generation. I strongly agree that excessive social media use can interrupt people’s concentration in many ways.

Social media provides an instant way to seek pleasure and excitement that makes us lose track of time and focus. The easiness of viewing unlimited media content on our finger touch allows us to spend more time with social media anytime we want and the feed’s algorithm plays a crucial role in supplying our preferred contents that grab our attention more and more. Take for example, Instagram, TikTok, and YouTube are the popular platforms with the most users and have the longest screen time for some people. Due to this, people that addicted to social media usually neglect their important work and it results in poor performance at school or work.

Social media interruption serves as a trigger to distract our focus. The notification pop-up from social media is often intrusive and it interrupts our focus in daily life. Some unexpected phone notifications from apps namely instant messenger and social media notifications often distract people from work. Moreover, usually, people cannot resist the temptation to urgently view and reply as soon as possible and it breaks the focus time session. Consequently, rather than finishing the real and important tasks, people tend to delay their work and cannot finish it on time.

In conclusion, I believe that social media’s role is the cause of people losing their focus and could harm people’s productivity. To solve this problem, people should prioritize and block their time to focus on their work and eliminate distractions from their social media.