Many today feel that attention spans are becoming shorter due to the prevalence of social media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The arise of social media era believed it causing reduction of attention span in most of people. This essay is completely agree and will examine several reason of it.

The consumption of short videos in the social media cause the reduction of attention span. These days social media offers many form of contents, such as pictures, stories, and short videos. We can find short videos in many social media platform for example is in TikTok, or in Instagram it called Rells, and in YouTube is Shorts. It usually using video with no longer than 30 second to 1 minute, which force the creator to compact the content inside it which makes it one of the most enjoyable content on social media. With that amount of enjoyment makes people keep scrolling their social media up to 200 times a day, that rolling down screen activity could damage brain and that actually ne of the cause of decrease in the focus of human being has.

Moreover, every social media have notification which often causing distraction that lead to attention span reduce. Almost all of online platform have notification features to remind their users of the updated news, especially chat-based social media such as Whatsapp and Telegram. Imagine our brain is trained to response to up to 1000 notification a day, that amount of noise can break focus could and make our brain is used to distraction.

Consequently the amount of focus which human has in this social media era is greatly reduced, which affected mainly by the content of onlne platform such as short videos that could damage brain and notification which can break human focus at anytime. Therefore with many challenge faced today in the online world, the human self control is at stakes thereby limiting the amount of time using online platform might could help to faced the challange