Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why is this the case? How can they be encouraged to go out?

Young generations, today, are reluctant to engage in outdoor activities, such as hiking and mountain climbing, in natural surroundings during vacations. This essay will first discuss how a sedentary lifestyle and risk factors are the main reasons for this, and then outline how education and events are useful tools for motivating youths.

A sedentary lifestyle discourages young adults to devote adequate time to outdoor activities. The young population’s daily routine schedule mainly consists of many activities like sitting in classrooms, studying, watching TV, playing video games and using social media, which form sedentary behaviour. A 2021 study of more than 1.3 million young adults found that those who lead a sedentary lifestyle are reluctant to get engaged in outdoor sports, hiking and mountain climbing. Moreover, there are considerable risks inherent in activities like hiking and mountain climbing, thereby discouraging their parents to allow them to take part in these activities. For instance, falling, altitude sickness and avalanche danger are among the most prevalent risks of such activities.

The best way to encourage the young generation is to educate young people about the benefits of involving in outdoor activities. If they are more aware of the advantages associated with hiking and mountain climbing, they might be greatly interested in the sports. Besides, schools can organize large events and competitions to promote outdoor activities. In order to win the competition, students would go mountaineering during recess, this, in turn, will reduce their screen time and eventually encourages them greatly to enjoy the natural environment.

In conclusion, youth devote less time to outdoor sports during holidays due to sedentary lifestyles and hazards associated with these sports. However, if schools educate them about the benefits and organize competitions, young people can be motivated.