Many young people move abroad for work. Why is this happening? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, migration to developed countries has become a norm particularly among the youth and skilled workers. The primary reason for this trend is the innate desire to seek greener pastures. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this trend, especially its adverse effect on family relationships have severe consequences compared to the benefits it presents.

A viable reason for migration is poor leadership. Some officials in developing countries loot public fund and utilize them for their personal gains, leaving the masses impoverished. This lack of accountability has negative impacts on every sector of the economy resulting in high unemployment rates, lack of basic amenities and untold hardship on the people. In addition, experts are forced to improvise, using outdated tools and machinery and paid meagre salaries that can barely sustain them. To gain financial stability and professional satisfaction, they migrate to better countries where cutting-edge technology is used to ensure optimal service delivery. For example, in some parts of Africa, patients travel long distances in search of facilities with a functional OCT machine. These delays, hinder positive health outcomes and alter the prognosis of the patients.

The primary benefit to most immigrants is better amenities such as healthcare, electricity, education which are not obtainable in under-developed countries. Furthermore, they enjoy higher wages and a better justice system. For instance, when a crime is committed, the perpetrators can be easily apprehended and brought to book due to the CCTV cameras, functional biometric system and database that enhances investigations. This serves as a deterrent to others and discourages crime. Although these benefits are mouthwatering, travelling and living far away from family has the tendency to cause emotional distress, a condition that can affect productivity. This is majorly attributed to loss of community support. In a typical community setting for instance, women are entitled to a period of post-partum care by their extended family which helps them relieve stress and relax during this vulnerable time. Migration compels them to do it alone resulting in post-partum depression, anxiety and less productivity.

In conclusion, migration is inevitable in the modern world due to constant urge for better opportunities. However, the emotional and psychological instability it causes, outweigh the advantages such as financial stability. Therefore, it is important to reform policies in developing countries that engage the youth and discourage mass migration.