Megacities around the world are becoming overpopulated day after day. What are the primary causes of this situation? How does it affect societies?

It is undeniable that many the population in big cities around the globe are becoming overloaded day by day. This essay will look at a number of reasons behind this trend and mention some negative effects to the public.

There are two main reasons associated with this phenomenon. One reason behind the intensive urban growth is individuals’ desire to meet their basic needs, which cause them to migrate from the countryside to cities in search of work with the hope of having a better future. This is because the urban life offers them various job oppoturnities, which are limited in rural are, from manual to intellectual work such as doctor, teacher or construction worker,… Therefore, it would allows them to earn an average income level, which is enough to pay for their daily needs. Another reason to this is that people want to have access to better educational facilities and medical services. This is mainly due to big universities, which are equipped with excellent educational materials and learning programmes, are often located in large metropolis. As a result, it encourages students from countryside to move to the city in hope of gaining more knowledge in order to develop their talents and get a better life.

However, there are several adverse impact of this situation on the societies. The first effect of this is on the environment. This could be carried out by the increasing in the number of people, which means more vehicle in commuting and more water disposal. As a result, the air could be badly polluted, leading to poor air quality and the inadequate sewage facilities results in water and sanitation problems, which all contributes to health issues such as asthma, obesity or stroke. Another one is the effection on people’s quality of life. This could be explained by the fact that the large amount of vehicle on the road could cause serioud traffic congestion, which could be very annoying and time consuming. Furthermore, there are still a number of people who are unemployed, which increases the poverty rate and the increasing in this also results in higher crime rates and housing problems. Consequently, more and more people would have to live in slums or informal settlements, creating higher risk of stress, depression and anxiety disorders in people.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the overpopulation in megacities and the effects to the societies are quite detrimental.