Mental health problems are increasing due to social media. What are the causes and solutions?

The internet is increasingly affecting individuals’ well-being. In this essay, I will discuss several reasons why this occurs and show appropriate solutions in mitigating this problem.

One of the main reasons why social media causes an increase in mental health problems is the sleep disruption. To elaborate upon this, watching social media for several hours can suppress our melatonin production. This can affect the sleep quality. In addition, many individuals are being exposed to cyberbullying. In fact, this is the main contributor to depression and social anxiety.

To mitigate this problem, governments and individuals should take appropriate action in implementing strict laws about social media and controlling their screen time. Adding new laws about controlling users’ messages in social media can actually reduce the number of cyberbullying incidents. Furthermore, individuals can set up a strict screen time, where using a device for longer periods would be forbidden. As a result, this can make melatonin production more robust, and provide a better sleep quality. By creating new laws and adding screen time limiters, people can help reduce the mental health problems related to being bullied, and assist in improving sleep.

To conclude, while social media is a main contributor to mental health problems, individuals can reduce the effects of cyberbullying and lack of sleep. Certainly, implementing strict laws about controlling users’ messages can be a huge step towards a safe digital world, and reducing screen time can provide benefits for a more robust sleep, due to increased melatonin production and less blue light emitting to your eyes.