Mobile phones and the Internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the Internet? How can we encourage them to use this new technology?

In the modern era, technologies provide various advantages for people, especially elderly individuals. However, digital devices help elderly people be more accessible in many ways in their lives; they are also the smallest group that adopts mobile phones and the Internet. In addition, there are several methods to encourage them

to use technology.

On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why digital tools have a positive impact on older people. To begin with, modern devices should be user-friendly so that older adults can easily access health support and information. Social media helps them to keep up to date with news, online medical consultations, and exercise tutorial videos. For example, older individuals can receive medical advice without visiting hospitals; they can get suggestions from experts, doctors, and nurses in remote areas. Another compelling reason is that a mobile phone helps elderly people to keep in touch with their friends and family. Older people usually live in remote areas, so their families can monitor them, and grandparents can meet their grandchildren through FaceTime or video calls. As a result, elderly individuals may worry less about their offspring and grandchildren; they also feel at ease and happy.

Admittedly, the older generation is the group that uses modern technology the least, yet there are still some viable methods to encourage them. A possible measure could be for the volunteers to organise a campaign to talk about the benefits of using digital devices. They should have a speech to persuade older people about the advantages that technology can bring, and explain or have a tutor on how to use the devices. Therefore, the number of elderly access to technology may increase, and they can easily communicate with family and friends. This can also be achieved by designing user-friendly technology can easily accessible to older people. Many elderly people avoid trying new technology because it can become complicated and difficult to use when it comes to always updated version. For instance, they can produce a product that have simple function and application that meets their demand, it can also have bigger texts, brighter colours, and reasonable prices.

In conclusion, digital devices offer several advantages for elderly individuals who can adopt them, such as supporting physical and mental health or interacting with friends and family. Additionally, younger generations have to encourage older people to use technology by organise campaign or designing simpler devices.