Mobile phones have brought many benefits, but they have also had negative effects. Do the disadvantages of having mobile phones outweigh the advantages?

Mobile phones have had an enormous impact on many aspects of our lives. They have significantly changed the way we communicate with each other in both our personal and our professional lives and they clearly have many advantages. However, there are several drawbacks to being constantly available and connected to the internet, which I will outline below.

By far the most common criticism of mobile phones is the fact that people are now expected to be available 24/7. Before mobile phones were invented, the time spent away from work was our own, but now it seems that the separation between work and free time has disappeared. In addition, mobile phones pose certain health risks and can be dangerous if drivers use them at the wheel or if people cross busy roads while texting. There have been several mobile-phone related accidents and fatalities. A final negative effect is that in public places such as on the train or at the cinema, there is no escape from the noise of annoying ringtones and loud, one-sided conversations.

On the other hand, there are several obvious benefits. The most powerful argument in favour

of mobile phones is that they can be used to call for help in the most inaccessible places, for example when a car breaks down in a remote area, and emergency services can be called to the scene of an accident without delay. Moreover, being easily contactable every minute of the day has real advantages for business people and for working parents.

To sum up, I feel that although there are some clear drawbacks to mobile phones, their efficiency, portability and multi-functional abilities have greatly enhanced most aspects of our lives and the plus points certainly offset the downsides.