Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social interaction is the fundamental key for human existence. In this advanced world, groundbreaking innovations of technology have transformed methods of communications. Although modern ways of connection benefit people significantly across the globe, their negative effects on social lives of humans cannot be overlooked.

One of the major drawbacks of latest services is weak emotional bonds. In this current progressive world, people due to their hectic jobs routine find it hard to manage time and meet their friends and family personally. These present-time apps have reduced face-to-face interaction. People in past used to share strong relationships because they had enough time to get engaged in different activities together. Humans face feelings of isolation due to lack of physical interactions.

Moreover, during the last decade, a remarkable decline has been seen in social skills. Due to reduced physical interactions, people have noticed bad effects on their health. According to a survey conducted at the University of Oxford, it was observed that people who were dependent on social media apps like email, messaging, and twitter for socialization rather than direct contacts suffered mental health problems like depression and anxiety.

Taking all these points into consideration, from a personal point of view, I strongly believe that detriments of innovative social media apps on human social life cannot be neglected. Despite the fact that online interactions are a necessity for progressive human life, overutilization reduces the quality of pure bonds. Balance is crucial for every aspect, as an excess of anything leads to negative consequences.