Modern societies are built around consumer culture, and people are judged by what they own rather than who they are. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

is argued that modern societies are based on consumerist values, meaning that people are judged more by how much they buy than by their personalities or abilities. I partly agree with this view because while modernity indeed encourages excessive consumption, society still values morality and talent.

On the one hand, nowadays, some people believe that purchasing many commodities can acquire respect from the others. This behavior appears in reality because companies use advertisement for manipulating consumers. For example, fashion companies might make video at social media in offering that their product are exclusive . It causes there is stigma that only special people wear those, while the others are not special.

On the other hand, however, modernity still recognizes moral value and talent. It remembers that honour goodness and skills Will never be lost overtime. Therefore, people get praise when they act well, although they do not too much consume things. For example, teachers can be respected by society when they only do be honest and rightful. Beside, people are be honoured when they express their capacities. For example, dancing expert has special value in society, although they do not too attract to purchase commodities.

However, the excess of modernity cannot be comprehend by one-sided. Indeed, it encourages consumers to purchase more things, so that those generate discrimination amount of people. In addition, there is not forget that those only in ecomonic aspect. In social aspect, people’s personality and capabilities are still at high-place in society.

In conclusion, even though modern life drives consumers to keep buying in order to gain respect influenced by advertisements, moral values and personal talents will still be recognized, as they are timeless and will never disappear.