Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the modern world need experts in certain fields, there are some people who would want the policy where governments should grant funding for only those students who are studying high-demand courses unlike other general academic subjects. This essay agrees with this policy and will demonstrate how the benefits of governments providing financial aids only to the high-demand subjects students outweigh the drawbacks.

Firstly, there are few courses, for instance, medical courses, in universities which are not only essential for students but also carry huge importance for the future of our society. These are definitely more costly as well as complex compared to the general subjects, due to which, not many students get enrolled into such fields. If the government of any nation supports its students who are learning such specialized courses, it will immensely help them in financing tuition fees and other academic expenses, subsequently motivating them to do well in the class. For instance, an average cost of an MBBS study is roughly around a hundred thousand dollars, which is practically impossible for most of the students from moderate income family. If the government provides financial assistances to these aspirants, it will put off a huge burden from their shoulders.

However, although this policy favors the students of specialized subjects, it overlooks the needs of other students who are also working hard for their studies. This means, they will feel neglected by their own government due to the fact that they are not given any support from their country only because they are studying general subjects. While, it is understandable for them not to be happy about this policy, they also get various types of scholarship and financial aid from their universities. For example, there is merit based scholarship which means students get maximum discounts based on their academic performances.

In conclusion, the fact that this policy of government paying university fees for high-demand subjects helps those aspirants who are in actual need of a financial support for bearing expenses of such expensive courses far outweigh the drawbacks that it neglects other students in the university.