Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are many debates concerning public expenditure items. One of the most argued spending, is probably linked to space exploration. On the one hand, others people believe that space colonisation provides much benefits for all mankind. On the other hand, some people consider that space exploration shouldn’t be a public policy and governments could funded others areas such as healthcare, education or cutted taxs. I totally disagree with this view, and in my opinion space must remain a priority for states due to the fact that space control is a strategic keypoint for many areas.

First of all, space exploration record has been very postive and has provided a lot of advantageous for humanity. Indeed, the space race during the Cold War, between the United States and the USSR, allowed to stimulate strongly the technical progress dynamic. For instance, the colonisation of the moon played an important role to develop the Web and other technologies such as aircraft or computer.

Today, we can see that space utilisation is always essential for many areas. Currently, there are dozen of thousand of satellites that are essential to manage all digital devices and informatic systems. For example, the World Wide Web is directly connected to space satellites, such as radars or all electronical machines. Digitalisation has become vital for the human technology.

Furthermore, the space public spendings are considerably lower than others expenditure items. For instance, in 2022, France spent 300 billions of euros to fund his retirement pensions, 70 billions of euros to support his educational system and 3 billions to finance his space exploration agencies. Consequently, this case shows, that the fiscal argument against spacial expenditures is wrong.

To conclude, I believe that the money spent on space exploration is not a waste but a benefit to nations.