Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Large amounts of money is being spent on exploration of space in times when basic needs and facilities are being compromised. My essay agrees with the view that money should be spent on discoveries and new things should be explored as it enhances knowledge on matters that are esoteric and obscure, furthermore this also boosts the reputation of a country.

Discoveries and explorations should not be halted as it provides a great platform to learn new things that can be beneficial to us in daily use. By going into depths of any matter, consequential information can be gathered, thus contributing to the overall knowledge of the world. For instance, water availability was reported to be found on Mercury planet, moreover many precious minerals and rare substances that were not to be found on Earth were discovered on many planets.

There is a tough competition between countries to achieve a higher rate of success and earn the fame and be recognized at a global level for their inventions, theories and discoveries. A country must set an yearly quota for explorations, thus not hampering the basic needs and facilities required by the people. Moreover, discovering something remarkable, increases the worth of a country and enhances it’s fame, thus making it as one of the powerful countries. For example, recently India launched a mission to land on the moon, that helped India gained multiple opportunities and benefits such as creation of jobs, boost to the economy and development and earning respect and importance by making a name for themselves at an International level.

To conclude, in my opinion government should spend money on discoveries and explorations along with fulfilling the basic needs of the people, as, this is a great opportunity to provide multiple benefits to the country and lead it towards success.