Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Space exploration has been a source of fascination for humanity for many years. While the benefits of space exploration are undeniable and it is considered an unworthwhile investment, I strongly agree with the standpoint that prioritizing investment in more immediate issues is more essential to address.

Admittedly, pouring money into space voyages is beneficial in some cases, which are immensely futile in the daily lives of humans. One of those benefits is that space research helps mankind gain profound insight into the universe and the potential for better life beyond the Earth. For instance, researchers are able to conquer the stars and turn them into habitable planets, solving the overpopulation problems on Earth. Besides, space exploration also contributes to the discovery of new energies, which reduce the cost of energy, and thanks to this, resident’s living standards also improve.

However, I still hold the belief that a vast amount of money should be funded to address other pressing social issues instead of space exploration, such as poverty and epidemic problems. When it comes to impoverished residents, an alarming proportion of people across the world have been struggling with a deficiency of basic needs such as food, shelter, and fresh water. In these situations, a huge source of money should be relocated from space exploration to poverty alleviation programs, which could potentially lift a million people out of destitution. Regarding the drug industry, some new medicine innovations have been interrupted by serious funding shortages, which should have been a more emergent problem in comparison with funding space discovery. Only when a better medical system is designed and new drugs are developed can medical services be more readily accessible. As a result, this leads to a longer life expectancy and a reduction in pain for patients.

In a nutshell, although spending on space expeditions yields benefits in some ways, both tangible and intangible, it is wiser to pour money into other urgent concerns, such as enhancing the standards of living in some poor regions and extending human longevity.