Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the resources spent in spatial studies are not beneficial to the society. Thus, politicians should review their priorities and direct the money to things that will increase the population’s well-being. I agree with this position because the tax moneys should be converted to who pays them and there is still a range of basic services that need to be upgraded.

Firstly, it is understandable that the politicians and scientists want to know and explore other planets and galaxies. Thus, someday in the future, this may be also necessary. However, these days the services provided to the society should come as a priority, specially because there is a lot to be done. For instance, the health care system is far to considered excellent. There is a number of patients waiting in huge lines for treatments that are so expensive and limited, that is not uncommon to observe some of them dyeing during that wait. Therefore, is imperative that instead of investing in space explorations, the tax money should be converted to buy new medical machines and health care professionals, and decrease the waiting time in treatment lines.

Also, more need to be done for other essential services, such as education. There is no point of having exceptional spatial studies, if the population cannot even have access to basic education. In these sense, recent studies shown that a well-educated society have 60% more possibilities to be more advanced technological and scientifically than others. Thus, investing in education is extremely necessary to even have future scientists.

In conclusion, the government should focus on wasting the tax revenue in services that will benefit the society and not in exploratory research, because the population’s well-being and education will be determinant to its future.