more and more of the tasks we do at home and at work today are being done by robots.  do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Technological headway, both in software and hardware, has brought about a great deal of changes in our lives, one of which is the increasing use of robots both in our homes and in the workplace. I believe that it is a change for the better.

Efficiency is one of the major objectives that drives many households and businesses. Towards this end, they employ a variety of strategies to minimize their input for a given output, or maximize their output for a given input. One of these strategies has been the use of robots at home. If they choose to, people nowadays do not have to do some household chores manually, but can use different programmable household appliances to carry out these tasks, ranging from a dishwasher to a vacuum cleaner to a washing machine. Notably, this has freed women from household work bogging them down at home for thousands of years and allowed them to pursue other productive activities outside the home. In addition, robotics is being widely deployed in the workplace in order to execute office tasks which have previously been assigned to workers. This includes customer engagement, data mining and business intelligence, to name but a few. Thus, rapid advancements in robotics are allowing both households and businesses to reap its benefits.

I believe that deploying robots for our different purposes is, overall, a positive development. Firstly, it gives families more time to enjoy recreational activities, which they otherwise would not have if it were not for programmable household devices. This, in turn, increases people’s overall well-being helping reduce their stress levels. Although one could argue that these benefits are more than offset by a sedentary lifestyle leading to a variety of health issues, I believe that people choosing not to be active would nonetheless do so even in the absence of these devices. In addition, businesses benefit a great deal from using robots due to the reduction of errors in different business processes, which humans are more prone to. By executing tasks without a blip robots increase both efficiency and accuracy outperforming employees provided these machines are used for tasks suited for them. Furthermore, outsourcing repetitive and mundane work to robots could reduce workers’ frustration and increase their satisfaction at work, resulting in much lower turnover for companies and reducing administrative costs. Therefore, using robots has considerably improved our lives.

In conclusion, robots are playing an increasingly greater role both in our homes and in the workplace. In my view, this has benefitted both people and businesses giving them more time and resources to engage in other meaningful activities.