More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a growing issue that more and more people are becoming overweight. Some people believe that increasing the cost of high-calorie foods can be a solution to this problem. While acknowledging the reasons behind this thinking, I believe that it is not an effective way to solve this issue.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that increasing the price of fattening foods to address this issue. The key rationale is that increasing the prices of fatty foods will lead to a decrease in people’s demand and the obesity rate could be curbed. However, the nature of fattening foods is ready-to-use, fast, and convenient for people who have busy schedules such as full-time workers or students who struggle to prepare their own meals at home. So people may continue to purchase these foods, even at a higher price. In cases such as this increasing the price of fattening food will not address the root cause of their overeating behavior.

On the other hand, I am convinced that there are other measures that prove more effective than increasing the price of fattening food. Firstly, raising public awareness about the repercussions of being overweight, not only leads to body dissatisfaction but also results in various dangerous diseases such as diabetes, high cholesterol, and high blood pressure. As a result, people may become aware of the issue, and they may proactively reduce their consumption of fast food. Additionally, The government needs to provide support packages for healthy food, making healthy food more accessible to the public. For example, when the government reduces prices for healthy food or adds incentives, the public may have better choices, encouraging healthier options.

In conclusion, increasing the price of fattening food is not an effective way to solve this issue. Instead, every effort should be made by all stakeholders, including individuals, businesses, and governments, to change the status quo of this issue and aiming towards a healthy society.