More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, an increasing number of individuals are gaining weight excessively. It has been argued by many people that the answer to this problem is to raise the cost of fattening foods. I completely agree with the aforementioned statement because the increased cost of these types of food will discourage people from buying them and also lower the production of these foods because of lower profits.

To begin with, increasing the price of food containing high amounts of fat will mean fewer people can afford to purchase these products. Individuals and families will be under significant financial pressure due to the rise in prices and hence switch to cheaper and healthier alternatives. This will reduce/ lower fat consumption among the masses and promote a healthier lifestyle. For instance/example, according to a recent survey published by the health department of Vietnam, a reduction of 78% in the purchase of fast foods is observed because of increased taxes on such food items.

Another point worth mentioning is that a decrease in the intake of these fat-containing foods will compel the companies to reduce their production due to lower profits. As a result availability of these products will dwindle and there will be fewer options left for consumers to buy. A report from Economics University reported that McDonald’s has cut down the making of hamburgers by a whopping 30% due to a decline in the demand among people.

In conclusion, increasing the cost of fattening foods can be considered an appropriate way to solve the problem of obesity among people since it considerably lowers the consumption as well as the production of those items.