More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the number of overweight people skyrockets, some people propse that we should increase the price of fattening foods as a way to combat the matter. However, I strongly disagree with this opinion since I feel like it does not address the main issue and it may lead to unwanted opposite effects.

The vital problem with people whose weight increases rapidly is their diet plan, the way they’re consuming foods in general and their exercise routine. It is common knowlede that at the end of the day, there aren’t any people who can force you to eat one particular thing but rather, it is entirely your decision to pick the next thing to be digested. No matter how high the prices may get, if an individuals doesn’t restrain himself or herself agains the urge to consume fast foods, that person will still be obese sooner or later. For instance, a young boy in my neighborhood used to an atheletic and energetic one until he became addicted to hot-dogs and soft-drinks ever since his twelfth birthday. Despite the sharp increase in their cost, the boy still nagged his parents for such unhealthy food on a daily basis and unfortunately, the parents cater to the boy’s needs until even now.

Another challenge that may crop up when increasing the price of fattening foods is that they might be taken advantage of by greedy executives. Since the real painpoint is not resolved, it is very likely that the consumption trend won’t change that much, meaning more and more people will be purchasing fattening foods. But at the same time, the expenditure for such products climb due to the solution propsed, which may be enforced through legislative administration or policies. This even encourages all the brands majoring in fatteng food out there to exert more effort to produce more diverse types of consumables, or to invest in ads, in discount, any ways to keep attracting people more and more. Such situation is not far-fetched and will be detrimental to the society.

In conclusion, facing with pressing matter of more people becoming overweight, it is not a solution to increase fatteng foods’ price. We need to truly make people change their eating habit, their food choice.