More and more people now live in cities. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of living in cities and give your opinion

In today’s world, the population of urban areas is rising. In spite of the environmental pollution and high cost of living, their better education along with liveliness are two common significance making people want to spend their life time there.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that metropolitan areas have several drawbacks. One main disadvantage is the contaminated environment. Because of the numerous cars and motorbikes used in cities, the air compared to that of countryside is way more dirty with dust and a series of invisible bacteria, not to mention the amount of waste water discharged from factories contributes seriously to water pollution. Additionally, urban regions tend to have more exorbitant expenses. It is crystal clear that prices in urban areas, especially big cities have the tendency to be two or even three times more expensive than other places. This easily leads to financial burden, particularly to people with unstable income.

On the other hand, inhabiting metropolitan regions offers dwellers a great number of benefits. First and foremost, better education might be offered when living in cities. Needless to say that big cities typically have more advanced education such as universities and training centers along with modern equipment and well-qualified teaching staff. This may encourage parents to let their kids live and acquire education in cities. What is more, staying in cities also means being part of the excitement and liveliness there. From early mornings to late nights, it is not hard to see streets filled with food trucks, pop-up markets, attracting fashion shops and entertaining events, making people feel mesmerized and quickly immersed in them.

In conclusion, despite certain disadvantages of living in urban regions, I personally believe their significant benefits are more crucial in people’s eyes.