More and more people nowadays are living in mega-cities: cities with more than 20 million people. Is it positive or negative development?

More and more people living in mega-cities nowadays. In my opinion, this trend makes more harm than good for two main reasons outlined below.

More than 20,000 people choose to live in big cities for several reasons. First, large cities provide numerous facilities. A good example would be high-paid jobs which many people want to have. For earning for basic needs, a large number of people living in the countryside move to city centers. Secondly, there are good living conditions comping to towns. Comfort in mega-cities such as nearby markets and having internet access make people’s life easier. For example, in my country it is so difficult to find supermakets in some towns. This requires a lot of time to people to go shopping in centers.

Although this change has positives, living in mega-cities has its own drawbacks. There are increasing crime rates in such cities. Even though most companies offer high-demanding jobs, it is competitive to find job places, As a result, some people can make minor crimes as stealing pocket money. Additionally, air pollution is one of the main issues most large cities face these days. As there is vast majority of cars and public transport, it is obvious that carbon dioxide is emiited. As a result, may affect the public health and overall well-being.

In conclusion, despite the fact that living in mega cities provide several facilites such as high salary and comfortable life conditions, this trend is detrimental for me because it may effect people’s safety and health.