More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

There is a rising trend of people visiting popular spots where they capture pictures of themselves, but skip actually looking at the location today. This could be attributed to the pressures of having an online presence and the fear of missing out. This, in my opinion, is an unfortunate situation and we must look at ways to live in the moment instead.

Presently, an individual’s social media has become their claim to fame, and an important part of their identity. Thus, it is understandable that people feel the need to photograph every moment to be part of the group that have shared experiences. Sadly, if one cannot produce an image of them doing an activity or at a place, it is considered to have not happened. This coupled with the easy access to devices that can capture high resolution images, leads to a focus on getting pictures before taking things in in real life.

The main reason why I believe this is a negative change in society is that the importance of living in the moment is fading away in these times. To be able to experience something in real time is a privilege and it refreshes the mind helping you direct your energy toward experiences instead of picture perfect situations. When people stop worrying about how it would look on social media, they can find places that develop lasting memories and learnings. For example, people in India frequently visit the Taj Mahal but few come out of there having understood the history behind it.

Moreover, this phenomenon is leading to hyper-individualistic societies that are consumed by the world on the internet. When visiting renowned destinations, people forget to respect the customs and culture of the place they visit and end up ruining the experience for others visiting as well. All too often, one notices herds of people distracted by the aesthetics of pictures that create an unwelcoming environment for the rest by blocking off large areas and disrespecting personal spaces. For instance, reportedly, an immersive Van Gogh experience location had so many influencers using flash photography that its was poorly reviewed by many visitors, eclipsing everything else it has to offer.

In conclusion, the issue at hand of people prioritizing getting photographed at places instead of enjoying what it has to offer is getting increasingly common. More and more people are reveling in less of the culture and beauty, and often become a nuisance to others.