More and more people prefer to watch movies and series at home instead of going to the cinema. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Watching films at your place of residence has become popular in recent years as an alternative to movie theatres. This trend has grown due to the rise of OTT platforms and changing mindset, offering both benefits and drawbacks for people.

One major advantage is that this comes with great convenience, affordability and content variety. This means a person can consume the content which they like without worrying about schedule. For instance, Netflix and Prime videos like OTT platforms offers various number of movies at a fraction of cost and even with no time barrier. Consequently, the ease of having this privilege makes people keen to watch movies at home. Over time, movies will be made just for OTT platforms exclusively.

One major disadvantage is the lack of that immersive experience and surrounding atmosphere, free from distractions. The reason for this is how ambience of a movie theatre is design, placement of speakers which helps in getting surreal viewing experience. A clear example of this is watching a film like Interstellar in an IMAX theatre which allows the audience to experience large screen, visual effects and feel the shaking seats with surround sound which is impossible to replicate at home. Ultimately, the satisfaction a true cinephile got after watching cinema in a good theatre results in worth watching. This not all gives audience immersive experience but also motivates the movie team that is sounds design, visual design and production tram to spend more efforts on every aspects more.

To conclude, watching movies at home gives convenience and affordable, but it lack in immersive experience and overall experience. Audience should be careful while considering their preference or they might just go watch movies in theatre one in a while along with watching it at home during their preferred time.