More and more people today are spending a large amount of money on their complexions in order to look younger. Why do people want to look younger? Do you think this is a positive or negative progression?

A significant amount of money is spent on cosmetics and medical treatments to look younger now. There are many contributing factors to this trend and this tendency causes serious problems for animals and the environment .

One of the key reasons for spending a lot of money on cosmetics is people’s refusal to accept ageing. Adults, particularly women, prioritize their appearance over their health, spending too much money on cosmetics and cosmetic surgeries. Many people refuse to accept the ageing process which causes many problems, such as less elastic skin, the development of wrinkles. Therefore, they are ready to pay for surgeries even if they are harmful to their health and buy a lot of cosmetics to look young again.

However, this tendency is likely to be detrimental, which can harm many species and damage the environment. First of all, production of cosmetics consists of many long processes before the final products are produced. In order to be profitable, companies and organizations conduct experiments on animals ranging from monkeys to rabbits to prevent any errors before sales. As a result, such testing products may eventually put the lives of many animals at risk. Meanwhile, production of skincare and cosmetic products also requires natural materials. For example, most products are derived from exotic plants and different types of flowers. Instead of preserving those natural sources, companies are ready to invest more money to introduce different types of cosmetics into the market, which may ultimately lead to the extinction of various plants.

In conclusion, there is no doubt why people are investing a lot of money in their appearance since they refuse to accept the reality. Nonetheless, I consider that this trend may harm many animal species and plant species. Thus, this trend should be controlled or at least carefully regulated.v