More and more people today are spending large amounts of money on their appearance in order to look younger. Why dompeople want to look younger? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In order to have a younger outlook, there is a significant increase in the number of people who are investing huge amounts of money into beauty care. This essay will outline the underlying reasons and figure out why this trend brings about more harm than good.

There are a couple of motivations which push individuals to spend extra money for cosmetic products or plastic surgeries with a view to looking younger than their real age. First, as people’s living standard rises, their demands of being beautiful and confident come along as a result. To be specific, a distinguished person, who is wealthy and successful, tends to want to have a prettier appearance so as to conceal their age. Also, as people are ageing much faster than in the past due to pollution, it comes naturally that they need to slow down that process. With a younger and more lively face, they are more confident and their social images are also enhanced.

Nonetheless, the shortcomings of this phenomenon should not be neglected. Using low quality cosmetic products can result in the degradation of one’s skin. This may stem from fake goods that duplicate global brands and are sold at an unbelievably cheap price. By exceptional marketing plan, customers can be allured to purchase such below average cosmetics and use them. Consequently, their faces or skins may lead to allergies to some of the ingredients, which cause severe irritation and damage. On top of that, while there are good beauty clinics being built up, disreputable ones are also established. These take on unqualified surgeons and equip poor facilities for their business. As a result, fatal consequences may happen. For example, in Vietnam in 2019, two cases in which plastic surgery clients died because of the wrong usage of substances were reported. This not only badly affects the fame of the surgery industry in general, but also leads to money and human loss.

In conclusion, members of the public have a tendency to spend money on making themselves younger because of the growth in their living conditions and to upgrade their social images. However, choosing wrong cosmetic products or low-quality beauty clinics can result in such catastrophic consequences.