More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many individuals prefer to spend their money on purchasing commodities like clothing or automobiles from well known brands. It is majorly due to the blind imitation of celebrities and even to show off their high living standards and I completely believe this has a negative impact on the society.

There are myriad reasons behind the purchase of luxurious items from popular companies and the craze to own such belongings is increasing drastically. As social media is evolving, people are getting to know about the flamboyant lifestyle of celebrities effortlessly. These known personalities are often seen flaunting their outfits and accessories purchased from expensive brands. Some people just try to replicate them buying such pieces irrespective of their economic condition. For example, a newspaper highlighted an article depicting the story of a youngster who theft money from many people just with an aim to buy a bike exactly of the same brand which his favorite celebrity was owning.

In addition to this, people nowadays love to showcase their flamboyant lifestyle through such branded commodities. Some international companies manufacture one of the most expensive cars and besides having some extra ordinary features, they are owned majorly by the people just to show their social status. For instance, a car brand names Lamborghini is often seen in music videos just to depict the standards of wealth. Most of the people are seen buying such expensive things only for the sake of appearance and to make others feel envy of their wealth.

In conclusion, brands which are meant to attract customers through their quality are often seen as a way to express people’s social status. Hence, I consider this as a negative effect on the development of the society.