More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many individuals are willing to purchase clothes, cars and other items from well-known brands. While the causes are the desire to display social status, I believe this is a negative development since it encourages materialism.

There are several causes why people want to buy branded products. One of the primary reasons is that people aim to show off their wealth. In other words, when people own branded items, such as luxury clothes and cars, it can signal their wealth and good taste. If they show it on social media platforms, they may receive recognition there. Consequently, they are more likely to focus on appearance rather than personal qualities. For example, some individuals post pictures of themselves wearing luxury brands on social media only to just attract audience and receive likes and positive comments.

Even though individuals want to display their status by wearing branded clothes is a cause, I believe this is a negative development for a single reason: it promotes consumerism. To clarify, consumerism fosters the belief that happiness and success are closely connected with the belongings of material goods. As a result, people begin to constantly compare themselves with people and feel pressure to buy expensive clothes in order to look like people on social media. This not only encourages people to spend their money on unnecessary items, but also people become to focus away from more important values, such as personal development and overall well-being. This shows that by comparing themselves with other people they may become addicted to purchasing new branded products to feel satisfied and socially accepted.

In conclusion, the primary cause is the display of wealth. However, I believe that this is a negative trend as it contributes to materialistic values.