More and more students study at foreign colleges and universities.Do u think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of students applying for foreign universities is increasing significantly. Although it has several disadvantages, such as high costing, homesickness and cultural distinctions, I strongly believe that the benefits including expanding your knowledge of the world, developing variety skills and better career chances , far outweigh the negatives.

On the one hand, it is really stressful and difficult as students have to face a number of challenges. The primary trouble is extremely high cost of tuition , flights, and so on. Because of this , most of the students have to work in part-time jobs instead of dedicating themselves only on their studies which automatically lowers their grades at universities. Moreover, there is another common obstacle -homesickness. It can be hard without your family, friends , acquitances for the first time. And you cannot rely on anyone yet as you will be still adapting for that country’s customs and people. Lastly, you might experience a cultural shock as well. At your first arrival , you will be completely unfamiliar with most things. As a result , you start noticing some differences or similarities with your culture.

Despite these drawbacks, studying in another country brings you a world of possibilities. First and foremost, you will be able to broaden your horizon by meeting new people, visiting touristic places, learning languages and so on. Also, you start looking at the world from diverse positions ,views. You will have many solutions for just one problem. Furthermore, it is a perfect chance to become independent, experienced and mentally stronger. After studying abroad, your both personal and professional skills will be developed. So , you become unrecognizable person. Ultimately, you will have access to more career opportunities compared to the person with local knowledge. As employers usually look for industrious, creative , and people with global perspectives.

In conclusion, more and more students prefer studying in another countries rather than in local ones. While they have to encounter with various problems related to the finance, cultural shock and missing hometown, I think that there are far more benefits referring to the expansion of knowledge, mastering variety of skills and career advancements.