More and more universities are replacing face-to-face teaching with online courses. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, due to technological advancements, many universities have replaced traditional form of teaching with virtual classes. I am of the opinion that despite the undeniable benefits brought about by this trend, it may lead to social isolation. This essay will delve into both positive and negative aspects of this development.

Regarding benefits, transition to this new mode of education has contributed meaningfully to improving the level of literacy in society. To elaborate on this, a great number of students have been provided with descent education, as many students, particularly those living in deprived area, who cannot afford to go to universities, are now able to download the records of online courses on the internet effortlessly. What is more, students can watch online courses of prestigious universities. Another compelling advantage is the optimization of time. This is because students no longer need to go to universities, attending classes via the internet and saving time on commuting. As a result, this transformation enable students to be much more productive, spending time on other activities, such as learning a new instrument or language.

However, we need to acknowledge the potential negative outcomes. For instance, students probably miss the chance to socialize with on another, not making strong friendships. To clarify this, if students participate in online courses, they will not be able to communicate face-to-face with their peers, having some superficial relationships made through virtual interactions. Consequently, not only does it lead students to reduced social engagement, but it can also foster higher rates of loneliness. Furthermore, they are likely to spend great deals of time in front of the screen, which can have devastating effects on their overall well-being. As an example, studies have shown that excessive screen time often correlates with poor eyesight.

In conclusion, although virtual classes have promoted free access to courses and optimized the time spent on education, they have undermined the importance of social interactions and affected students’ health drastically.