More employers are now offering their employees the option to work from home. As a result, employees will have more flexible hours in the future Is this positive or negative development?

Nowadays the number of people working remotely has arised frequently since employees are given the opportunity from employers which results positively in allocating time for workers. However, I consider this as a negative development. In this essay, the negative implications of remote work will be discussed.

First and foremost, remote work can cause issues and misunderstandings between coworkers since it is considered to be exceedingly difficult to communicate without face-to-face interaction. For instance, if the company organizes the corporate parties or meetings, it will be quite challenging for remote workers to connect through online channels or it can cause additional expenses for the company to transport all remote employees to offline meetings. Thus, engaging in real life activities or working together at the same space plays a vital role in building and fostering prompting relationships with employees. As a result, it may lead to better work performance since employees interact and take motivation from the results of other employees.

Secondly, the workload and results may seem ambiguous to track for some employers since there might occur some workers who do not complete the work solely. Thus, there is a paramount significance in tracking the achievement of employees for the behalf of the company’s future since dishonest employees may cost huge expenses to the company.

Consequently, it will be more pragmatic to use the traditional way of work since companies will be aware of the real performance of the employees.

To sum up, although remote work appears to be appealing to employers owing to its convenience in flexibility, it seems to have negative consequences on the workload and communication between coworkers.