More employers are now offering their employees the option to work from home. As a result, employees will have more flexible hours in the future Is this positive or negative development?

In recent years, many companies have been allowing their employees to perform their duties remotely. This gives flexibility in terms of working hours for the workers. This essay will discuss the implication of such a measure and argue that it is a negative development.

A major reason why it can be problematic is because working remotely with flexible working hours could affect productivity. Some people tend to lose focus and discipline when working from home because of their environment. At home, there are numerous possible distractions, such as household chores, family members, and maybe loud sounds from the surroundings. Furthermore, the lack of direct supervision may lead to delays in task completion, as employees might procrastinate or lack motivation to meet deadlines promptly.

Moreover, virtual work tends to blur the boundaries between personal and professional life. When there is no clear boundaries between workspace and home space, employees may be struggling to separate their responsibility at work from personal time, which can lead to overworking. In addition, by working remotely, the reduction of face-to-face interaction may happen, which can make the workers feel isolated and lonely. If it continues to happen, this may affect their job satisfaction and their mental health.

To conclude, allowing the employees to work remotely, which could give flexibility in terms of working, is undoubtedly a negative development, as it could affect workers’ productivity and also blur boundaries between personal and professional life.