Globalization has led to a significant increase in the homogenization of cultures worldwide. What are the potential problems associated with this cultural uniformity, and what measures can be taken to preserve cultural diversity?v

Many cultures have been uniformed because of globalization, and as a result local traditions and languages are going extinct. The main problems caused by cultural loss are erosion of local values, and identity crisis. To preserve and strengthen cultural diversity regional languages should be taught at schools, and multicultural events should take place.

The loss of a culture causes local values to erode, and identity crises follows this. Culture preserves local values, and provide people with their special identity. With globalisation, the homogeneity of cultures has caused people to adopt western culture, while abandoning their traditional values. As a result, the special identity of these people, given by their culture, is eroded, which leads to identity crises. One of the major example of this phenomenon is eroding local values and rising identity crises in the youth of Pakistan because of rising globalization of western values through social media.

In order to preserve and maintain cultural harmony, schools should teach local languages to their students, and regional administrations should hold cultural festivals to strengthen cultural diversity. Languages hold enormous significance for cultural preservation. Languages not only hold history, but they also engrave speakers with local values, therefore preserving cultural values. Furthermore, local administrators should promote cultural festivals to strengthen cultural diversity. These events bring different groups and cultures together, and provide them with opportunity of learning and respecting values of other peoples, and cultures. The most clear example of preserving and strengthening cultural diversity is the promotion of Punjabi language by provincial government at school level, and Organization of cultural festivals, like basant, at provincial level.

Indeed, globalisation has caused homogenisation of cultures, which has caused local values to erode. These demerits of globalisation can be mitigated by a commutative effort of people and administration. Therefore, both government, and people should take equal part in preserving and strengthening cultural diversity.