Should every student be required to learn a second language to graduate? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been proposed that acquiring a second language has to be mandatory for students over their learning process in academic settings. I completely agree with the given statement, because learning a foreign language can offer both economic and cultural benefits for youth.

There are a number of factors why people assert that schools and other institutions should introduce a mandatory language acquisition. One of the most compelling merits of encouraging students to engage in foreign language classes is paving the way for them to gain demanding employment opportunities. To further elucidate the phenomenon, if people are equipped with indispensable abilities: being able to communicate in other languages, especially widely spoken ones, they can be offered better jobs with high salaries and perks such as frequent pay rises, and business visits overseas. Another benefit of a compulsory second language at schools is that students can gain cultural competence by interacting with people in all corners of the world and exchanging cultures, thereby fostering a cohesive society.

[29.04.2026 18:11] Ramziddin: Not only can learning a second language provide decent job offers, but also improve students’ cognitive performance. In other words, young people who are striving to achieve academic excellence should acquire a foreign language, as it facilitates the understanding of complex concepts by fostering a cognitive function. A recent research, for example, shed light on the mental benefits of language acquisition, and findings have proved that it can help individuals to strengthen their memory and avoid potential risks of ADHD.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that foreign language classes should be introduced in all academic majors, as their cognitive benefits can help students fully focus on their lessons and process information, let alone other aforementioned advantages.