More people today put their personal and private information online (address, telephone number, credit card number) to do everyday activities such as banking, shopping, and socializing. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, advancements in technology have led most people to tend to share their personal and private information on the internet to carry out their daily activities, such as shopping, banking tasks, and connecting with people worldwide. While some people believe that this trend poses a significant threat to privacy and security of people, I agree with those who feel that it can smooth out our lives.

Firstly, while I concede that making personal information available for everyone increase the chance for scam and theft, I think it is worth it as individuals can conduct their daily activities at home without needing in-person interactions, all via the internet. For instance, people can do their shopping online from the comfort of their homes. To put it simply, by submitting addresses, credit card number, and other essential information, they can peruse a vast assortment of products at their fingertips and make purchases without going in-person, helping them save time and allowing them to focus on other necessary chores.

Finally, in my opinion, putting the personal information online, allowing individuals not only be aware of their daily banking affairs as soon as possible but also to keep in touch with people who are far away from them. This is because when platforms like banking apps have access to people’s information, they can offer personalized services and streamline financial management, which is a positive trend. Meanwhile, due to various reasons like busy schedules or migration, it is not always possible for people to have a face-to-face communication with their family or like-minded individuals. As a result, sharing information online can help most people bridge the geographical gap and keep each other informed, which can have a significantly positive impact on people’s mood.

All of this being said, although it is undeniable that the accessibility of information online can increase the risk of scam and theft statistics, I still believe that the positive aspects of this trend smooth out people’s life, making it a positive development.