"Most modern families have both parents working and as a result children spend less time with their parents. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause?"

In some families caregivers are working both and consequently kids spend fewer hours with their parents. The main reasons of this situations are financial pressure and changing social roles. Despite these reasons, this situation can lead to some potential problems.

The first main reason is that financial pressure. In recent times, prices for basic needs such as education, food, transportation, and utilities are rising. One parent physically cannot cover all of this income. Second reason is that, there are changes in social roles. Nowadays, women get equal opportunities to work and study which means that they also can come true successful in their career like men. In addition, in modern society both parents working became normal. It supports idea that еvery person can contribute to the family. For example, in Swetzerland the policy actively supports women’s career development: paid maternity leave for both parents and access to high-quality childcare are provided.Thanks to this, women often combine work and family care.

Despite all this, children may still have some problems. First problem is weakened family bonds.When both parents work, there is less time for family time. The level of trust between parents and children decreases. Children share their experiences less often and become detached. Second problem is discipline issues. Children receive less control from their parents, which leads to a decrease in discipline and a problems in education. With no control children start going against the rules and self-control decreases. It can lead to that kids start being addicted to gadgets or started having bad habits.

To sum up, children spend less time with their parents because of financial necessity and changes in social roles. Therefore it is understandable, but it can lead to problems in children’s life. So, parents should have a balance between family and work.