Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view, that local people should be responsible for their local environment rather than the government. Despite concerns about the time and effort required from residents, I believe that this idea has more positive effects than negative ones.

On the one hand, local communities would need a considerable amount of people’s free time to address environmental issues. Any project including activities such as cleaning or gardening may take residents’ time. As a result, people who work multiple jobs or have night shifts may have difficulties incorporating these social activities into their schedule. For instance, medical workers or employees of the emergency departments should not be distracted from their professional responsibilities by these types of works.

However, the involvement of local communities in environmental projects can strengthen social unity. Neighbours working together is a effective way to create a sense of cooperation and belonging.For example, in Uzbekistan and in other parts of Central Asia, people have tradition such as hashar where local residents work together for the benefit of their community and for years these traditions help to keep good environment and promote social unity.

Moreover, younger generation can learn about how to take care of environment through participation in community activities. After taking part in such works, they may better understand the importance of work done by cleaners.For instance, in school some students damage public poverty, and community service activities may help improve their behaviour and awareness of cleanliness.

In conclusion, although community-based environmental work may create some difficulties for some residents,I lean towards social works to improve environment because it also promote social unity and teach children to value work of cleaners.