Most successful companies use advertisements to increase sales. What are the main things that make an advertisement effective? Are advertisements a good thing or bad thing for society?

It is widely known that ads are the best tool to grow sales, particularly in successful corporations. While there are number of facets that make ads effective and feasible, I think they can actually be harmful to people as advertisements often promote consumerism, and unnecessary purchases.

Throughout the whole history of businesses, it is evident that ads have been one of the main instruments for companies to increase their revenue. Whether an organization is new and rapidly growing or old and empowering, the subtle role of advertisements in product promotion cannot be supplanted. This is because commercial is usually value-oriented, and effective in the long run. They might not attract a noticeable quantity of customers in the beginning, but they are consistent appearance in TV programs, on billboards, and streets familiarizes people about the endorsed product. Thus, this familiarity increases the chance of people buying the product they have encountered several times. Additionally, ads can be helpful tool to inform people about a service or product they need or are looking for. Besides, the frequency and spectrum of advertisements may provide a wide variety of choice for people.

Nevertheless, ads can equally be harmful for society. This is because they not only help people acquaint with various products, but they usually create fake or unnecessary needs. As a result, people may buy things they do not actually have need for. This, consequently, leads to a notable increase in consumerism amongst society. Needless to say, many people are well aware of the fact that the products shown in ads are frequently overhyped or exaggerated. This means the description or even the image of the product can actually be highly deceitful or misleading. For that reason, I personally believe that advertisements, though being helpful and effective for big companies to raise their sales, can be bad thing for society.

In conclusion, while ads, despite their types, are economically feasible for lucrative companies, they are possible and precedented negative impact on society should not be neglected.