Mostly people are becoming seriously overweight. Some say that raising the price of fatty foods will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with essay?

Given the escalating rate of obesity nowadays, it is sometimes proposed that the government should levy higher prices on fattening food. While there are certain rationales for this belief, I would argue that this proposal is fraught with pitfalls.

Granted, there are some valid arguments regarding raising the cost of fattening food as a viable solution. Chief among these is that because fattening food, such as cheese and butter, is often high in calories, it is considered by some as the main culprit of overweight. This makes many people believe that setting higher prices on fattening food could effectively address the increasing rate of obesity, as it could theoretically inhibit people from consuming this food.

Nevertheless, this line of thought is met with several challenges and fails to factor in the hectic nature of modern lifestyles. Rather than mitigating the issue that we are trying to solve, this policy is more likely to exacerbate another conundrum, socioeconomic inequality. That is, fattening food, in fact, is cheaper compared to healthy food, and thus more suitable for middle- and low-income earners. That being the reason, raising the prices of fattening food alone could only exaggerate the financial burdens of this party. Moreover, the convenience and immediacy of fattening food make it an inevitable choice of those with a packed schedule. This means that even if this kind of food is made more expensive, it will remain the go-to option of several people.

Thus, instead of interfering with fattening food prices, the government should turn to other measures to tackle the rising obesity rate. One such approach is elevating the public awareness of the dire repercussions associated with excessive fattening food consumption. People, once cognizant of these issues, would grow more conscious of their food choices, and thereby less susceptible to obesity. Such a measure should be executed in tandem with providing more subsidies for healthy foods to make them more financially accessible to the general public. This could eventually incentivize people to redirect towards more wholesome foods.

To conclude, while there are some valid grounds for arguing that fattening food prices should be heightened, this viewpoint oversimplifies the intricate nature of the problem. Raising the prices of this food alone cannot create a noticeable improvement and can even worsen social disparity. Instead, there are more viable solutions worth embracing, such as educating the public and making healthy food choices more affordable.