Museums and art galleries should be free to visit. Do you agree or disagree?

There is widespread belief that public museums should provide free services to the public. Although no-charge museums allow people to participate in public exhibitions and learn how history is shaped, I strongly disagree with this statement because it reduces the value and has a negative impact on museums’ economy.

One compelling reason is that museums provide such important data about the country’s history. Nowadays, museums provide less expensive services for people, and many people do not visit such venues even if they are cheaper. By adopting no-charge exhibitions and stimulating individuals with no paid programs, museum organizations can encourage people even with no interest. Therefore, they can then set the prices for people who are used to attending and have long-term benefits for museums’ economy system. As a result, such initiatives not only make the museum profitable but also broaden people’s knowledge about history.

Admittedly, free museums expand participants’ knowledge and strengthen the organization’s economy. History’s heritage is significantly valuable, and it has left such precious materials for people. By making museums free to the public, history’s heritage can lose its value. This is because resources can be obtained easily and without paying money. As a result, society does not appreciate the heritage given by its ancestors. Therefore, free service can reduce museums’ economic system, because they pay compulsory taxes, rental fees, and such expenses. Consequently, if there are no charges for exhibitions, the economy would experience a recession. For example, almost every country has its own rules and compulsory taxes. Organizations cannot pay these expenses by making their resources free.

In conclusion, although providing no-charge services to the public can be beneficial for society’s knowledge broadening, I disagree with the statement because adopting no-paid programs has a negative impact on the museum’s economy, and it also loses the significance of heritage.