New technologies are changing how children spend their free time

With the advancements in technology, people of all ages, particularly youngsters, are becoming infatuated with them, which inevitably caused sweeping changes in their leisure time patterns. While this situation poses benefits associated with education, I believe that it does more harm than good.

Proponents of early exposure to gadgets cite various reasons to support their stance. Technology is a major tool that can be implemented in every aspects of life, including in educational sphere. Thanks to apps like Khan Academy and Duolingo, learning has never been as entertaining as today. Under the right supervision and guidance, children can hone their literacy, linguistic or analytical skills through these applications. Additionally, in the world of automation, it is crucial to be digitally literate. By exposing them to technology from an early age, they become more familiar with digital devices and software, while developing the ability to navigate through various interfaces effortlessly. This not only encompasses skills like critical thinking and adaptability, but also teaches them how to discern reliable information from misinformation on the internet, fostering savvy and technologically fluent citizens.

Despite these advantages, in my view, potential challenges such as increased screen time, driven by excessive use of phones carry greater weight. When children binge on screens, they often receive a pleasure of some sort, which takes its toll on both their physical and mental health. Sedentary lifestyle attributed from continuous exposure to screens, lead to the formation of dysregulated and easily-irritated characteristics, while resulting in obesity as these children are likely to be physically inactive most of the time. Apart from harming well-being, this trend may impinge on family dynamics. If people do not interact with others, which is the case in gadget-obsessed-children, they might experience a lack of mutual understanding and appreciation with their parents, leading to weak parent-child relationships. Moreover, getting addicted to digital devices for children, is a poor waste their childhood, where they could build up so many precious memories, form numerous of bonds with friends, consequently develop personalities such as loyalty or empathy as well as experience a roller coaster of emotions instead of sitting online and tapping to the screen.

In conclusion, when it comes to children’s use of technology, the benefits obtained from it like educational opportunities or being digitally literate, pale into insignificance if it poses any damage to the young generation’s well-being and they miss out their mostly priceless period of life.