New technologies have changed the way children spend free time. Do the advantages outweigh potential disadvantages?

In recent years, children’s leisure activities have shifted mainly due to the advancement of technology and I believe that the drawbacks to this trend are far greater than the benefits.

I believe the rise of technology allows children to explore the world from a various angle and adopt new ways of learning. Take, for example, video games, they usually require thinking out of the box and approaching tasks in various ways in order to complete a level and move on to the next one. Moreover, contemporary researches have revealed that children who play video games have more developed cognitive system than the ones who play outside and engage in physical activities. To support this study, the evidence shows that 80% of the gamers acquire new skills, that are relevant in real life, such as, problem-solving skills and critical thinking, while subconsciously playing video games. This method of teaching might successfully be applied to children with mental disabilities.

Despite the advantage, it is essential to consider the risks of the change in children’s hobbies. First and foremost, if kids continue to lock themselves up indoors and waste time playing with their gadgets, there is a high chance that they will be afflicted with vitamin D deficiency. Secondly, the majority of the new pastimes are sedentary and might eventually lead to certain health issues, ranging from impaired posture and weak bones to permanent vision loss and cardiovascular diseases, thereby potentially putting the life of the kids in danger.

In conclusion, the change in children’s free-time activities can be beneficial to educational aspects of their life, however, the consequences involve harm to one’s health. Therefore, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.